Specialization is for insects

“A human being should be able to change a diaper, plan an invasion, butcher a hog, conn a ship, design a building, write a sonnet, balance accounts, build a wall, set a bone, comfort the dying, take orders, give orders, cooperate, act alone, solve equations, analyze a new problem, pitch manure, program a computer, cook a tasty meal, fight efficiently, and die gallantly. Specialization is for insects.”   ~Robert Heinlen~

I have problems limiting myself to just one or two interests. I love life! I want to do as many things I like, as I can. I was just filling out a form to apply for a Game development program and I’ve realized that human beings are so complex that deserve to pay attention to everything that interest them.

Of course your attention and energy is limited and you cannot do everything always. But you can try and have fun in the meantime!

 

I was just writing this in my application and I wanted to share it:

I wanted to be an astronaut or archaeologist. As I couldn’t be either one, I’ve been exploring a little bit of everything in life: I’ve acted, played instruments, danced flamenco, written poetry and played RPGs. I’ve led young women groups, meditation circles, book clubs, World Cafes and I’m starting a movement called Re-connection. The most fulfilling activity I’ve done, though, has been to facilitate workshops to change paradigms in blue-collar workers in Mexico and inspire them to go back to school/improve their careers.

 I firmly believe that girls and boys should have equal opportunities to do whatever they feel like doing, and it’s our job to inspire them to do always more than what seem possible or reasonable to do. I love unreasonable!

So, next time that someone asks you about your passion, don’t be afraid of giving them your list of the 10 or more things that you’re passionate about. We need more passionate people in this world!

 

Image: http://www.petapixel.com/2012/09/21/stunning-macro-photographs-of-insects-glowing-in-the-morning-dew/

Published by

murteaga

Social science geek. Career and Personal Coach. OD enthusiast. Passionate about change, challenges and creativity.

Leave a Reply

